September 18, 2015

Round 3 Qualifiers & the Community Cup

0 comments

The Battle for Zendikar approaches, but before we head into the magic of Prerelease weekend, we've got the third and final round of the 2015 World Magic Cup Qualifiers coming up, along with the long-held tradition of the Community Cup!

In addition to that, we'll spotlight what you may have missed last weekend along with what you can watch this weekend.

2015 World Magic Cup Qualifiers—Round 3

The 2015 World Magic Cup Qualifiers wrap up this weekend, as players from 73 countries bring their best Standard decks to battle for the fourth and final slot on their country's World Magic Cup team.

Who will be joining their teammates to represent their country in the 2015 World Magic Cup in Barcelona, Spain, December 11–13? We'll find out soon! Keep your eyes on Twitter as results start coming in this weekend, and as with the last two, we'll have a sampling of Top 8 decks from some of this weekend's World Magic Cup Qualifiers posted in next week's Organized Play.

2015 Community Cup

Also taking place this weekend is the 2015 Community Cup, the long and honored tradition wherein eight players from the Magic community are invited to Wizards of the Coast Headquarters to face off against the nefarious and dreaded spectacular and flawless Wizards Team, where they will be treated like esteemed guests the prisoners they are as we enjoy two days of Community Cup fun crush their pathetic hopes and dreams in a two-day spectacle that will be forever recorded in our live video coverage of the event.

Starting tomorrow, you can find updates about the Community Cup here on this very website, as well as on the Magic Twitch Channel. Be sure to tune in and enjoy!

The Flashback

Last weekend featured September's two Grand Prix.

Players from all over Europe—and a few Limited aficionados and travel fans from other continents—traveled to Spain last weekend for Grand Prix Madrid, the final Grand Prix to feature Magic Origins as its Limited format through the two-day main event.

Many came and tried their best to win—1,416 players, to be precise. However, it was Serbia's Aleksa Telarov, the recent Magic Online semifinalist and 2014 World Magic Cup quarterfinalist, who took home the trophy this weekend.

Full Coverage

Top 8 Decklists

Highlights:

Analyzing the 3-0 Decks from the First Draft: Coverage reporter Oliver Gehrmann breaks down the 3-0 draft decks to determine what saw the most success in the first draft of the Grand Prix main event.

The Pithy Guide to Magic Origins Sealed Archetypes: Coverage showrunner Tobi Henke reports on Pro Tour Magic Origins champion Joel Larsson's one- or two-sentence descriptions of what each archetype should be doing in the Sealed format.

Meanwhile, Grand Prix Oklahoma City played host to some Modern mayhem in North America. A total of 1,470 players showed up to battle, but at the end of the day, it was the very unconventional Lantern Control deck that finally found its way into the spotlight thanks to Zac Elsik's victory with the unconventional lockdown strategy.

Full Coverage

Top 8 Decklists

Top 32 Decklists

Day One Undefeated Decklists

Trial-Winning Decklists

Highlights

Lighting the Lantern: Coverage reporter Corbin Hosler talks to eventual Grand Prix winner Zac Elsik about his Lantern Control deck.

Viewing Guide

Magic Twitch Channel

Saturday, September 19

10 a.m. PT/1 p.m. ET/5 p.m. UTC: Community Cup

Sunday, September 20

10 a.m. PT/1 p.m. ET/5 p.m. UTC: Community Cup

Tuesday, September 22

6 p.m. PT/9 p.m. ET/1 a.m. UTC: Modern Super League


SCGLive Twitch Channel

Saturday, September 19

8:30 a.m. PT/11:30 a.m. ET/3:30 p.m. UTC: SCG Open Milwaukee

Sunday, September 20

7 a.m. PT/10 a.m. ET/2 p.m. UTC: SCG Open Milwaukee


The next few days showcase a couple of unique offerings.

First up is the Magic Community Cup, featuring eight community representatives battling it out against the Wizards Team across four different formats, including some live Battle for Zendikar Sealed!

Join Marshall Sutcliffe, Brian David-Marshall, Matt Tabak, Tim Willoughby, and Graham Stark for two days of zany formats, good-natured ribbing, and the complete and utter annihilation of the Community Team (or, y'know, a great time) on the Magic Twitch Channel! Coverage begins Saturday and Sunday at 10 a.m. PT/1 p.m. ET/5 p.m. UTC.

The Modern Super League continues, featuring players from all over the world as they bring a variety of unique Modern decks to action! Who will qualify for the Super League Championship through this double-elimination spectacle? Join Randy Buehler and the rest of the Modern Super League crew on Tuesday, September 22, at 6 p.m. PT/9 p.m. ET/1 a.m. UTC on the Magic Twitch Channel to find out!

The StarCityGames.com Open Series makes its stop in Milwaukee this weekend for a two-day Standard main event, showcasing the current Standard's last hurrah before Battle for Zendikar and the rotation of Theros block and Magic 2015. Join Cedric Phillips and Mattias Hunt for live coverage on the SCGLive Twitch Channel starting Saturday at 8:30 a.m. PT/11:30 a.m. ET/3:30 p.m. UTC. Coverage of day two begins at 7 a.m. PT/10 a.m. ET/2 p.m. UTC.



from rss http://ift.tt/1gxzQAA

0 comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.

 
 
 

Spikey Bits' Videos

 
 
Welcome to our site. Contact us if you have any question

Powered by : Blogger