August 14, 2015

August Action

0 comments

The month of August is heating up, and we've got one double-GP weekend before we move into two more action-packed weekends, including PAX Prime at the end of the month.

You can catch coverage info for this weekend's events at the bottom in the Viewing Guide, but we'll begin by talking about the following weekend.

2015 World Magic Cup Qualifiers

Coming up this month are the World Magic Cup Qualifiers (WMCQs) for the 2015 World Magic Cup. The first round of these takes place on August 22–23, in 73 different countries worldwide.

The winner of each World Magic Cup Qualifier wins a spot on their country's team in this year's World Magic Cup, which takes place December 11–13 in Barcelona, Spain. Those winners will receive a travel award to help them get to Barcelona so that they can compete, and they will be joined by three other teammates representing their country: their nation's national champion along with two more World Magic Cup Qualifier winners.

The August 22–23 World Magic Cup Qualifiers are Standard Constructed. Looking to play in one? Find the event taking place in your country, and best of luck!

Eternal Weekend

August 21–23 is also Eternal Weekend, hosted by Card Titan in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. Conveniently, the Pennsylvania Convention Center is also the location of the USA's first WMCQ, as Card Titan is hosting that as well.

Friday is all Trials all the time, with Trial events taking place for the World Magic Cup Qualifier, Legacy Championship, and Vintage Championship.

Saturday, August 22, features two of the main events, with the World Magic Cup Qualifier starting at 9 a.m. Eastern Time. The Top 8 for this WMCQ takes place on Sunday

The second Saturday event is the Legacy Championship, which also starts at 9 a.m. Eastern. All players who compete in the Legacy Championship will receive one of these bad boys:

On Sunday, while the WMCQ Top 8 battles it out for a World Magic Cup Qualifier slot, the Vintage Championship will be taking place, featuring some of Magic's most powerful decks in action. Everyone who participates in the Vintage Championship gets an event-exclusive playmat featuring one of Magic's most infamous lands:

Participants in either event also receive an Ultra PRO nine-pocket trade binder with the art for Deathrite Shaman on the front, and the art for Tolarian Academy on the back.

Coverage reporter Adam Styborski will be there providing text coverage, including decklists from both the Legacy and Vintage Championship, so be sure to check DailyMTG for updates next weekend. And if you're in the area and are hungry to bust out those Brainstorms, Moxen, and more, head into Philadelphia and show the Eternal field what you've got!

The Big Weekend

Following all of that is the biggest weekend of the month: PAX Prime weekend.

We talked last week about the coverage you can expect from the 2015 World Championship, but I wanted to follow up on a couple of questions:

  • Day One of the World Championship takes place a day before PAX Prime officially opens, which means that the area in which the competitors are playing will be closed off to the public as we make final preparations.
  • Starting Friday, which is Day Two of the World Championship, anyone with a badge that gets them into PAX Prime will be welcome inside.
  • PAX Prime is seriously going to be awesome. I would love to tell you everything that we've got planned for this event . . . but we're not yet ready. You should, however, check back next week if you'd like to learn what all is going on!

Taking place alongside the World Championship are two Grand Prix as well: one in Prague, and one in Santiago.

Grand Prix Prague's main event is Standard Constructed, and all participants will receive the following event-exclusive playmat:

Meanwhile, Grand Prix Santiago will be Magic Origins Limited, and everyone who pre-registered before July 31 will receive this event-exclusive playmat:

While the World Championship is going on, you can still check out text coverage from both Grand Prix throughout the weekend.

Viewing Guide

Magic Twitch Channel

Saturday, August 15

5 a.m. PT/8 a.m. ET/12 p.m. UTC—GP London Day One

Sunday, August 16

1 a.m. PT/4 a.m. ET/8 a.m. UTC—GP London Day Two

Tuesday, August 18

6 p.m. PT/9 p.m. ET/1 a.m. UTC—Standard Super League


Magic2 Twitch Channel

Saturday, August 15

7:30 a.m. PT/10:30 a.m. ET/2:30 p.m. UTC—GP Detroit Day One

Sunday, August 16

7:30 a.m. PT/10:30 a.m. ET/2:30 p.m. UTC—GP Detroit Day Two


This weekend has some big variety at the Grand Prix level, with some Standard as well as Team Limited action taking place on different continents and channels.

First up is Grand Prix London, which continues the dive into the post-Magic Origins Standard format following the shaping of Standard at the Pro Tour and the adjustments that followed last weekend at Grand Prix San Diego.

Will Sphinx's Tutelage stand tall at this event? What about Red Aggro? Or will Abzan return to the spotlight? Join Matej Zatlkaj, Frank Karsten, Marijn Lybaert, Rich Hagon, Steven Leeming, and Scott Hatton for two days of live Standard action! It all starts Saturday on the Magic Twitch Channel at 1 p.m. local time (BST)/5 a.m. PT/8 a.m. ET/12 p.m. UTC. Coverage resumes Sunday at 9 a.m. local time (BST)/1 a.m. PT/4 a.m. ET/8 a.m. UTC.


While Europe dives into Standard, North America will be showcasing Team Limited at Grand Prix Detroit as teams of three test themselves in Magic Origins Team Sealed and—if the weekend goes well—Team Booster Draft in the Top 4. Which superstar team will rise above the rest?

Join Marshall Sutcliffe, Kenji Egashira, Jacob Van Lunen, Rashad Miller, Rich Castle, and Matt Mendoza for two days of live Team Limited coverage. Grand Prix coverage begins both days on the Magic2 Twitch Channel at 10:30 a.m. local time (ET)/7:30 a.m. PT/2:30 p.m. UTC.


The dust has settled, Week 1 of the Standard Super League is in the books, and the three pods are heating up. In the Brewers group, Josh Utter-Leyton and Gerard Fabiano started off with wins. In the Group of Death, Paul Rietzl overcame Owen Turtenwald, while Brad Nelson defeated Samuel Black. And finally, in the Streamers group, Paul Cheon was crowned supreme Cheon over Kenji Egashira, while Gaby Spartz put a checkmark next to Team Viper with a win over Marshall Sutcliffe.

We still have more group action before the playoffs, so join Randy Buehler and the rest of the Standard Super League crew for more league action on the Magic Twitch Channel this Tuesday at 6 p.m. PT/9 p.m. ET/1 a.m. UTC!



from rss http://ift.tt/1UHMvQR

0 comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.

 
 
 

Spikey Bits' Videos

 
 
Welcome to our site. Contact us if you have any question

Powered by : Blogger