July 17, 2015

Prestige in 2015

0 comments

It's Magic Origins Release Day, which means it's time to crack open some new boosters and flip some creatures into Planeswalkers. Meanwhile, I’m preparing to play in our company's Release Celebration Standard event today in what is expected to be the start of me casting Jace, Vryn's Prodigy in many decks for the next year or so.

Looking ahead of today's release, however, are some upcoming invitational-only events.


2015 World Magic Cup

Event information has been published for the 2015 World Magic Cup, which takes place in Barcelona, Spain, December 11–13. With more than seven countries represented in this year's event, the World Magic Cup will easily be one of the year's most energetic and exciting events to participate in or watch.

Each team in the World Magic Cup consists of four players. One of those players is the Professional Point leader of the country (Professional Points are earned through good finishes at Grand Prix, Pro Tours, and at selected high-level Magic tournaments).

The three remaining slots on a country's team are determined through the World Magic Cup Qualifiers, with the first round taking place in August. If you'd like the chance to represent your country in one of the game's biggest events of the year, head over to that page to see where the World Magic Cup Qualifiers will be happening in your country. To play in a World Magic Cup Qualifier, players must meet the residency and eligibility requirements so please familiarize yourself with the information on the fact sheet to make sure you meet those guidelines.

We'll be making updates to the World Magic Cup event information page to include a list of players who are invited to represent their country in the event shortly after Pro Tour Magic Origins in August. We'll be sure to mention where the World Magic Cup qualified players list is at in this column as well, so check back regularly, come August, for updates.

2015 World Championship

The 2015 World Championship is coming. From August 27–30 at PAX Prime in Seattle, twenty-four of the world's best players will be invited to compete in a tournament that spans three days and four different formats. We're really excited to share everything that you can look forward to with regards to this event . . . but that is for another day.

In the meantime, however, you can familiarize yourself with the event information page, which highlights the formats by day, hashtags, basic live broadcast information, prizes, and more!

As we enter August, expect to see much more about the 2015 World Championship as well as PAX Prime in general in this and other columns. With six of the twenty-four invitations already awarded to this event, all eyes are on Grand Prix Dallas/Fort Worth—which will award one World Championship invitation—and on Pro Tour Magic Origins, when all of the remaining invitations will be awarded.


Viewing Guide

Geek & Sundry Youtube Channel

Spellslingers Episode 2


Magic Twitch Channel

Tuesday, July 21

6 p.m. PT/9 p.m. ET/1 a.m. UTC—Vintage Super League


SCGLive Twitch Channel

Saturday, July 18

7:30 a.m. PT/10:30 a.m. ET/2:30 p.m. UTC—SCG Open Chicago

Sunday, July 19

6 a.m. PT/9 a.m. ET/1 p.m. UTC—SCG Open Chicago


MTGRich Twitch Channel

Wednesday, July 22

8 a.m. PT/11 a.m. ET/3 p.m. UTC—Downtime


You can catch one major tournament that's showcasing the new Standard format this weekend along with various programs throughout the week, including . . .


What's that? You're looking for a new episode of Spellslingers? And you'd like to watch it right now?

Sure.

Here it is.

But that's not the only thing for you to watch in the next few days. Want some more details on some upcoming broadcasts?

Sure.


Week 3 of the Vintage Super League takes place next Tuesday, following this season's first round of casualties of the season's double-elimination tournament. Bob Maher, Rich Shay, Luis Scott-Vargas, and Steve Menendian were all left on the sidelines at the end of the day, leaving only Chris Pikula, Eric Froehlich, Randy Buehler, and Tom Martell to square off next week.

However, while four players were still safe, only three of them are getting invitations to the Super League Championship this fall, and the two players standing on shaky ground are Randy Buehler and Tom Martell. Who will advance to the Super League Championship later this year?

Join Randy Buehler and the rest of the Vintage Super League to see the conclusion to the Vintage Super League for this season! You can catch this on the Magic Twitch Channel next Tuesday at 6 p.m. PT/9 p.m. ET/1 a.m. UTC!


The StarCityGames.com Open Series heads to Chicago, where players will take their first swing at the Standard Constructed format with Magic Origins. What new cards will set the tone for the format's development over the next several weeks? Which Planeswalker is going to make the big splash first?

Join Patrick Sullivan and Cedric Phillips as they bring you two days of live video coverage from Chicago. You can catch it all on the SCGLive Twitch Channel starting Saturday at 10:30 a.m. local time (ET)/7:30 a.m. PT/2:30 p.m. UTC. Coverage of Day Two begins Sunday at 9 a.m. local time (ET)/6 a.m. PT/1 p.m. UTC.


And as always, don't miss Downtime, hosted by Pro Tour coverage mainstay Rich Hagon, every Wednesday at 8 a.m. PT/11 a.m. ET/3 p.m. UTC on the MTGRich Twitch Channel!



from rss http://ift.tt/1Jn52Kn

0 comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.

 
 
 

Spikey Bits' Videos

 
 
Welcome to our site. Contact us if you have any question

Powered by : Blogger