July 24, 2015

Near the Season's End

0 comments

The 2014-15 Premier Play season only has two events remaining. After one of those events, we will know seven of the 24 players who will be competing in the 2015 Magic World Championship. After the last one, the remaining seventeen players will be decided.

First up. . .

Grand Prix Dallas/Fort Worth

There is one Grand Prix left in the 2014-15 Premier Play season, and that's Grand Prix Dallas/Fort Worth. Texas's Grand Prix marks the first time that Magic Origins will be seen in the Grand Prix spotlight, as players compete in a main event that will test their new card knowledge in Sealed Deck and Booster Draft.

For many pros who have chosen to travel through Texas on the way to Vancouver, Grand Prix Dallas/Fort Worth will be a Magic Origins Limited boot camp where players figure out how they rank cards in Booster Draft, all while (hopefully) picking up some last-minute Pro Points before heading into the final Pro Tour of the season.

For observers and coverage followers, this Grand Prix will be a sample of what to expect during the Limited rounds of Pro Tour Magic Origins a little under a week later.

And for two Magic players from Quebec, Grand Prix Dallas/Fort Worth will determine who is going to the 2015 World Championship.

Alexander Hayne

Pascal Maynard

Alexander Hayne and Pascal Maynard have been in a very close race to see who can amass the most Pro Points via Grand Prix finishes, and it's gotten both to travel thousands of miles in order to keep up. Why? The person who earns the most Grand Prix Pro Points is invited to compete in the 2015 World Championship!

Currently, Alexander Hayne leads this race by three points after a solid finish at Grand Prix Montreal, while Maynard missed out on Day Two. However, if we've learned anything from this year's race, it's to never count Maynard out. Crazier comebacks have happened in this ongoing race, and there is still one Grand Prix left for some exciting turnarounds to emerge.

Pro Tour Magic Origins

Mark your calendars, because next week is Pro Tour Magic Origins and the conclusion to the 2014-15 Premier Play season! By the end of that Pro Tour, we'll have a Pro Tour champion, a Player of the Year, a Rookie of the Year, National Champions for the World Magic Cup, and all 24 competitors in the 2015 World Championship.

It's also going to be the last chance for players to get the Pro Points that they need to lock in status for the 2015-16 Premier Play season in the Pro Tour Players Club. With the difference between Gold and Platinum being thousands of dollars in appearance fees, next weekend's Pro Tour competitors will have a lot on the line.

If you're not playing in the Pro Tour, you can still be part of it by tuning in for the live video coverage of all three days, featuring some of the best Standard and Magic Origins Booster Draft action this season! Coverage will start on Friday, July 31, at 9 a.m. local time (PT)/12 p.m. ET/4 p.m. UTC.

And if you need even more reasons to tune in, Rich Hagon will have a lot of those on Monday.

Because seriously. Pro Tour weekend. Don't miss it. Don't make other plans. Tune in and enjoy.

Viewing Guide

Magic Twitch Channel

Saturday, July 25

12 p.m. PT/3 p.m. ET/7 p.m. UTC—GP Dallas/Fort Worth

Sunday, July 26

7 a.m. PT/10 a.m. ET/2 p.m. UTC—GP Dallas/Fort Worth


SCGLive Twitch Channel

Saturday, July 25

7:30 a.m. PT/10:30 a.m. ET/3:30 p.m. UTC—SCG Open Richmond

Sunday, July 26

6 a.m. PT/9 a.m. ET/1 p.m. UTC—SCG Open Richmond


While I’m as excited as you are for the Pro Tour, it's still a week away—so let's take a look at what you can watch this weekend.

First up is Grand Prix Dallas/Fort Worth, which we discussed earlier. It's Magic Origins Limited (for the first time at a Grand Prix!), and it's a big event for Alexander Hayne and Pascal Maynard, along with anyone looking for one last attempt at Pro Points heading into the last Pro Tour of the season.

Join Marshall Sutcliffe, Randy Buehler, Brian David-Marshall, Rashad Miller, Rich Castle, and Matt Mendoza for two days of live Limited coverage on the Magic Twitch Channel! It all starts on Saturday at 2 p.m. local time (CT)/12 p.m. PT/3 p.m. ET/7 p.m. UTC. Coverage of Day Two begins Sunday at 9 a.m. local time (CT)/7 a.m. PT/10 a.m. ET/2 p.m. UTC.


The StarCityGames.com Open Series makes a stop in Richmond this weekend to showcase week two of the brand new Standard format. Join Patrick Sullivan and Cedric Phillips as they bring you two days of Standard coverage on the SCGLive Twitch Channel, starting Saturday at 10:30 a.m. local time (ET)/7:30 a.m. PT/3:30 p.m. UTC. Coverage of Day Two begins Sunday at 9 a.m. local time (ET)/6 a.m. PT/1 p.m. UTC.



from rss http://ift.tt/1HXK5FZ

0 comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.

 
 
 

Spikey Bits' Videos

 
 
Welcome to our site. Contact us if you have any question

Powered by : Blogger