July 07, 2015

Ask Wizards

0 comments

You amazing people continue to light up our Tumblr with fantastic questions, comments, and ideas! In honor of Magic Origins's upcoming release, we'd like to take this time to showcase a few of the questions that have come our way about the set and its design.

And as always, if you have a question you'd like answered by a specific designer, feel free to reach out to Mark Rosewater, Gavin Verhey, Doug Beyer, and Matt Tabak through their blogs. You might even see your question (and the answer) show up here in the future!


Mark Rosewater—Head Designer

Q: For Magic Origins, are the double-faced Planeswalkers in the rare slot, or do they replace a common like in Innistrad?—toyybs

A: There is no double-faced slot in a Magic Origins booster like there was in Innistrad and Dark Ascension. The Planeswalkers show up at the same frequency as any mythic rare.

Q: You said that Origins was almost a villain-themed set. Are blocks always going to be based on planes? Or is it possible that we might see blocks where the story is strictly character-driven?—meatybacon

A: Magic requires environments, so they will always take place in a location. But our characters do drive the story.

Kytheon's Irregulars | Art by Mark Winters

Q: How can Kytheon's Irregulars be mono-white if its flavour text specifically mentions them working outside the law?—z00tgrunt

A: They break the laws of the color pie itself. : )


Doug Beyer—Senior Creative Designer

Q: Hey Doug! So we've seen a few Planeswalkers from Origins spoiled now. Some of them seem a lot older on their Planeswalker side. Do the Planeswalker sides of the Origins walkers depict them in the future a good deal after they've ignited their spark?—frequency42

A: Yep! The front face is the character around the time their spark was about to ignite. The back face is the character as we know them today.

Q: Yesterday I discovered that Kytheon was named on Desperate Stand from Journey Into Nyx. You sneaky, sneaky Creative team.—sarpadianempiresvol-viii

A: SNEAKY?! I don't know WHAT you're talking about, other than the fact that I totally do.

"At the Akroan gates, hoplites revived the tactics of Kytheon Iora's infamous irregulars."

To all those who suspiciously narrowed their eyes at us when this card came out, citing an eerie similarity to the name "Gideon Jura" and a gnawing sense that we were up to something: I officially applaud you AND your general paranoia. :)

By the way, for those who have asked: Kytheon Iora is pronounced "KITH-ee-un ee-OR-uh." Kytheon uses the same vowel sounds and first-syllable stress as Gideon.


Matt Tabak—Rules Manager

Q: Is being put into the graveyard by the legend rule counted as dying? For example, if I play Liliana, Heretical Healer while already having a copy of her out, can I transform the one I keep when the other goes to the graveyard due to the legend rule? Or are they never on the battlefield at the same time or something?—peridotspellcard

A: "Dies" just means "is put into a graveyard from the battlefield." It doesn't matter why it's going: destruction, 0 toughness, sacrifice, legend rule, and so on. You can exile the surviving one.

Q: Are tokens considered to go to the graveyard, for cards like Kothophed, Soul Hoarder?—galaxy-drifter

A: Yes. Tokens go to the graveyard, triggering any appropriate abilities before disappearing.


Gavin Verhey—Designer

Q: What is the ultimate answer to life the universe and everything?—cobrakmmndr

A: A 42/42 creature. :)

Q: Your next cosplay should be as Enthralling Victor.—Anonymous

A: I have my own take on it that I like to call "Enthralling Verhey."



from rss http://ift.tt/1KPkV0q

0 comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.

 
 
 

Spikey Bits' Videos

 
 
Welcome to our site. Contact us if you have any question

Powered by : Blogger