May 20, 2015

Modern Masters Weekend Approaching

0 comments

We're less than two weeks away from what is to be one of Magic's most memorable weekends.

Modern Masters Weekend is set to be one of the biggest face-to-face trading card game events to take place worldwide. Comprised of three epic Grand Prix taking place across three different continents, each with a main event featuring thousands of players partaking in the Modern Masters 2015 Edition Limited format, Modern Masters Weekend will also feature one of our biggest live video broadcasting weekends. Ever.

Here's a breakdown of what you can expect.


Live Video Coverage

Live video coverage will be taking place starting with Round 1 at all three Grand Prix, and it's going to be round-the-clock coverage that begins with Day One of Grand Prix Chiba and ends Sunday night with the finals of Grand Prix Las Vegas, along with plenty of awesome matches, memorable stories, and a whole lot more in between.

Let's go down the schedule on when you can expect coverage of an event to begin, and when.


Day 1

The live video coverage of Modern Masters Weekend begins with Day One, Round 1 of Grand Prix Chiba's main event on the Twitch Magic channel at the following times, based on your time zone:

Friday at 7 p.m. PT

Friday at 10 p.m. ET

Saturday at 2 a.m. UTC

Saturday at 4 a.m. CET

Saturday at 11 a.m. Local Time (JST)

While Grand Prix Chiba is going on, Grand Prix Utrecht coverage will be kicking off over on the Twitch Magic2 channel at the following times, based on your time zone:

Saturday at 2 a.m. PT

Saturday at 5 a.m. ET

Saturday at 9 a.m. UTC

Saturday at 11 a.m. Local Time (CET)

Saturday at 6 p.m. JST

Grand Prix Chiba will still be streaming when GP Utrecht coverage begins, giving you double the Magic to watch for a few hours.

Double the Magic is taken to a new level with Vegas. Grand Prix Las Vegas is of such an epic size that it will consist of two main events rather than one! You can catch all of the action from the first main event starting with Round 1 on the Twitch Magic channel at the following times:

Saturday at 11 a.m. Local Time (PT)

Saturday at 2 p.m. ET

Saturday at 6 p.m. UTC

Saturday at 8 p.m. CET

Sunday at 12 a.m. JST

Meanwhile, you can catch all of the action of the second GP Vegas main event from our friends at ChannelFireball, where they'll be bringing dedicated coverage of that event all weekend.


Day Two

Day Two of the Modern Masters Weekend main events will see a bit of a shift of where each event will air, so pay attention!

Day Two of Grand Prix Chiba will stream on the Twitch Magic2 channel (NOTE: that is different from Day One) at the following times:

Saturday at 5 p.m. PT

Saturday at 8 p.m. ET

Sunday at 12 a.m. UTC

Sunday at 2 a.m. CET

Sunday at 9 a.m. Local Time (JST)

Day Two of Grand Prix Utrecht will stream on the Twitch Magic channel after the end of Day One of Grand Prix Vegas. This is estimated to be around the following times:

Sunday at 1 a.m. PT

Sunday at 4 a.m. ET

Sundayat 8 a.m. UTC

Sunday at 10 a.m. Local Time (CET)

Sunday at 5 p.m. JST

Meanwhile, Day Two of Grand Prix Las Vegas will stream on the Twitch Magic2 channel after the end of Grand Prix Chiba. This is expected to be around the following times:

Sunday at 9 a.m. Local Time (PT)

Sunday at 12 p.m. ET

Sunday at 4 p.m. UTC

Sunday at 6 p.m. CET

Sunday at 10 p.m. JST

As we wind down with the other Modern Masters Weekend Grand Prix, you can catch the final few hours of Grand Prix Las Vegas on both Magic Twitch channels.


Articles, Stories, & More

In addition to our live video coverage of the tournament, you'll have the following to look forward to from each Grand Prix:

  • Video segments and features in between rounds of each Grand Prix main event, highlighting everything from new players, to travel stories, and yes, even weddings! Even when Magic isn't being played on camera, you won't want to miss a moment of the video coverage!
  • Articles showcasing some of the many, many awesome stories that will emerge from each event. Whether you're a new player or a veteran, you'll love what we'll have for you to read.
  • Round-the-clock social media updates, stories, photos, and more from all three Grand Prix.
  • We may have an infographic or two to encompass just how epic this weekend will be.

The One-Stop Shop

If you're ever confused about where to find the latest happenings from Modern Masters Weekend, you can always check out the Modern Masters Weekend homepage, which will be the home for links to all GP coverage, as well as a home for both of our Twitch channels along with the ChannelFireball Twitch channel. If you're looking to get the latest on a specific event, then this is where you will want to be!


Take Part in Modern Masters Weekend!

Even if you aren't going to be going to one of these GPs, you can still take part in Modern Masters Weekend. Let us know how you're celebrating by tweeting using the hashtag #MakeMagicHistory.

And if you're a store, take part in the celebration too! Set up your stores to broadcast Modern Masters Weekend coverage, host some Modern Masters 2015 Edition drafts, get your players partaking in some Magic of their choice, and they can watch all the coverage while playing at your store. Don't be shy about sharing your viewing parties experiences either. Tweet your viewing party and Modern Masters Weekend photos using the hashtags #gpchiba, #gputrecht, and #gpvegas, depending on the event you are showing!

Modern Masters Weekend is going to be a huge part of Magic history. Don't miss out on being part of it.


The Flashback

Last weekend showcased three events across three continents that were not directly tied to any of the "three events, three continents" discussion earlier in this article. Let's start with the highlight event:


Last weekend was the 2014 Magic Online Championship, a flagship invitation-only event from Magic Online where the sixteen winners from last year's Magic Online Championship Series events flew to Seattle, Washing, to compete for a $25,000 first prize, Gold status in the Pro Tour Players Club, and a spot in this year's World Championship.

In the end of the three-day competition, Magus Lantto came out on top, primarily thanks to the early advantage that his Vintage preparation gave him in the swiss rounds as well as in the final's best-two-out-of-three-matches structure. The Grand Prix Milan 2015 champion has added a big win to his resume, and he'll be returning to Seattle in a few months for the World Championship.

Full Coverage

Decklists

Standard Decklists

Modern Decklists

Vintage Decklists

Highlights

The 2014 Magic Online Championship at a Glance—I discuss the highlights of the weekend, and also got a chance to talk to winner Magnus Lantto about how much this victory meant to him.


Also part of last weekend's triple-threat of events was Grand Prix Shanghai, a Standard spectacle that brought some of Asia's best Magic players to China for the weekend. Aside from introducing some seriously awesome brews into the Standard metagame, thanks to some of Japan's greats, the story of the weekend was all about Japan in general, with new superstar Yuuki Ichikawa taking home the trophy with Abzan Control. This mark's the two-time Pro Tour Top 8 competitor's first Grand Prix win.

Full Coverage

Decklists

Top 8 Decklists

Top 16 Decklists

9-0 Decklists

Deck Tech: Dragon Megamorph

Deck Tech: Dragon Devotion

Deck Tech: Shota Yasooka's Raptor Ascendency

Deck Tech: Han Bing's White-Blue Dragons

Highlights:

Catching Up with the Top 25—Reporter Ben Swartz caught up with the three Top 25 players in attendance at Grand Prix Shanghai: Lee Shi Tian, Yuuya Watanabe, and Shota Yasooka.

Meet Teruya Kakumae—Reporter Chapman Sim talks to one of Japan's newest stars, Teruya Kakumae, to learn more about his start in the game and his breakthrough performances this season.


Last weekend also showcased this season's Team Limited Grand Prix in Florence. Team Limited always brings out the biggest teams and some of the most skill-intensive games of Magic, and last weekend was no exception. The Top 4 of this event featured two countries: Germany and England. When the semifinals ended, the two British teams were gone and left in the finals were six players all hailing from Berlin. In the end, the trio of Rasario Maij, Adrian Rosada, and Frank Schäfer took home the trophies for the weekend.

Full Coverage

Decklists

Finals Draft Decklists

Semifinals Draft Decklists: Anteri/Royde/Sajgalik and Maij/Rosada/Schäfer

Highlights

Digging for Gold with Fabrizio Anteri—Oliver Gehrmann catches up with Fabrizio Anteri to see how his year of Magic has been and what he's hoping to achieve in the next few months.



from rss http://ift.tt/1efwPo1

0 comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.

 
 
 

Spikey Bits' Videos

 
 
Welcome to our site. Contact us if you have any question

Powered by : Blogger