March 13, 2015

Cleveland and More


Magic Twitch Channel

Saturday, March 14

11 a.m. PT/2 p.m. ET—Grand Prix Cleveland Day One

Sunday, March 15

6 a.m. PT/9 a.m. ET—Grand Prix Cleveland Day Two

Tuesday, March 17

6 p.m. PT/9 p.m. ET—Vintage Super League

SCGLive Twitch Channel

Saturday, March 14

8:30 a.m. PT/11:30 a.m. ET—SCG Open Dallas Day One

Sunday, March 15

7 a.m. PT/10 a.m. ET—SCG Open Dallas Day Two

MTGRich Twitch Channel

Wednesday, March 18

8 a.m. PT/11 a.m. ET—Downtime (Premiere Episode)

We're one week away from Dragons of Tarkir Prereleases. But before then, we'll get a chance to look at Limited and Standard one last time before the attention shifts to the new set and what it will do to both formats.

First up is Grand Prix Cleveland, featuring our last look at the Fate Reforged/Khans of Tarkir Limited format before the world of all dragons and no khans. Who will be crowned the champion of the final Grand Prix featuring the wedge-centric Khans of Tarkir format?

Join Marshall Sutcliffe, Randy Buehler, Brian David-Marshall, Rashad Miller, Richard Castle, and Ray Punzalan as they bring you live video coverage from the tournament floor. It all starts on the Magic Twitch Channel Saturday at 2 p.m. local time (ET)/11 a.m. PT/6 p.m. GMT. Coverage resumes for Day Two on Sunday at 9 a.m. local time (ET)/6 a.m. PT/1 p.m. GMT.

Following the Grand Prix, on Tuesday, will be Week 7 of the Vintage Super League. The ten competitors have finished playing the last three rounds with their deck selections. Week 7 means new decks, and for a few competitors, this comes with a big sigh of relief.

Leading the players is Season 1 semifinalist Eric Froehlich with an undefeated record. He's practically at the point of guaranteeing his place in the Top 4. Following him is Season 1 finalist Luis Scott-Vargas at 5-1. Meanwhile, at the bottom of the bracket are Tom Martell and David Williams, both players fighting to stay out of last place with 1-5 records. Gifts and Mentor Control, respectively, did not work out well for either player, and now it'll be a fight to survive the dreaded last-place slot, which will eliminate one of the ten competitors from returning for next season!

What will be the new big decks for the final three weeks of round-robin play? Will Mentor Control turn its ugly start around, or will Omni Oath continue to impress?

Join Randy Buehler and the rest of the Vintage Super League crew for Week 7 action on the Magic Twitch Channel on Tuesday, March 17, at 6 p.m. PT/9 p.m. ET/1 a.m. GMT.

While Cleveland focuses on the final Fate Reforged/Khans of Tarkir Limited Grand Prix, the Open Series in Dallas will give us our final look at the pre-Dragons of Tarkir world of Standard. After last week's Green-White Devotion explosion in Grand Prix Miami, how will players adapt to the newly shaken metagame? Will Mastery of the Unseen be the dominant force, or will it follow its namesake and be a mere blip on the tournament radar?

Join Patrick Sullivan and Matthias Hunt along with the rest of the SCGLive crew as they bring you two days filled with Standard Magic in action. It all starts on the SCGLive Twitch channel Saturday at 10:30 a.m. local time (CT)/8:30 a.m. PT/11:30 a.m. ET/3:30 p.m. GMT. Coverage resumes for Day Two on Sunday at 9 a.m. local time (CT)/7 a.m. PT/10 a.m. ET/2 p.m. GMT….

…and now, for something completely different.

Fans of Magic Online are all-too familiar with the term "downtime." It’s those few hours every Wednesday that feel like forever, where the game goes offline for routine maintenance, the time where the desire to jump into an 8-4 queue for a Booster Draft strikes the most painfully. It’s a necessary evil to improve on the client, but also a part of the week where drafting Magic on your computer has to be postponed for a few hours…

…However, Downtime is about to have a new meaning every Wednesday. Starting March 18 at 8 a.m. PT/11 a.m. ET/3 p.m. GMT, Downtime—hosted by Pro Tour commentator extraordinaire Rich Hagon—will air on Twitch.TV, providing a little bit of Magic fun during the portion of the week where there otherwise is none; while Magic Online players twiddle their thumbs, waiting for the client to return.

Downtime is a three-hour broadcast hosted out of Rich Hagon’s home in the UK. It's a combination of radio talk show, crowd interaction, sketch comedy, dry British jokes, discussions on what is coming up in Organized Play, what releases are approaching, and a whole lot more.

Let’s return to that first point: talk show. Each week, Rich Hagon will have a guest joining him remotely on Downtime to discuss all things Magic and not. Downtime’s premiere will feature Rich joined by Pro Tour Gatecrash champion Tom Martell for three hours of ways to kill the time before Magic Online servers go live.

You can catch the premiere of Downtime on Rich Hagon’s Twitch channel, so join us on Wednesday, March 18 at 8 a.m. PT for the big premiere!

from rss


Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.


Spikey Bits' Videos

Welcome to our site. Contact us if you have any question

Powered by : Blogger